It was in the December of 2012 that me following God’s will and doing as He says, getting to know Him more and submitting every inch of myself to Him, that I was seeing results.
I can boast that I have not touched drugs in 3 and a half years.
I have completely given up smoking for 7 months now – although I only smoked over weekends and had reduced to possibly 4 a weekend the year before the 7 that have passed.
I cannot go to a club without getting annoyed with smokers and people bumping me. Occasionally I feel like I want to go dancing and get dolled up and go out but quickly remind myself how annoying being in a club is now and stinking of the cigarette smoke – yuk.
I cannot drink copiously anymore. The day after my Bacherlorette Party and another day after a friend’s birthday – of hangovers from hell – can testify to that fact. I FEEL like I am 21 and I can joke and act 21 sometimes but I know I have changed – my mind has shifted and I cannot bare to try and LIVE like a 21 year old. My goodness I don’t even drive like I did back then – racing around with this go go attitude.

On the 2nd of December I went to my friend’s 30 birthday dinner at the Zoo Lake Moyo. I didn’t want to go. I was tired – Nannies was draining me. I was a tad depro cause I’d gotten to the point where I was embracing a life single – that many women had been called to never marry and that I was one of them. In my head I was planning and getting documents together to return to Korea beginning Feb. I wanted the months to fly by so I could say bye. I was early, the birthday girl was late, I knew no-one, and I joined a table, the only table where there were people who merrily coaxed me over to join them.
Mark was seated opposite me.
Maybe I am a dork. But IT WAS  love at first sight. I kept staring at him through the evening, did the hair flick thing, though he was a bit shy and didn’t maintain eye contact too long kkk, I tried to talk to him after the meal but he was a bit shy. He did get the table free wine because my food was late and half the stuff on the menu was sold out and he waited for me to get my food before he started eating – someone who didn’t even know me.
I gave up by the end of the night in waiting for him to ask for my number and I left. I thought to myself,  “I AM NOT CHASING THIS ONE”. If it’s God’s will then he will find a way to contact me and if he does, great, if not then that’s meant to be.
Well, later on the next day, my friend asked me if she could give Mark my number – I was thrilled and when Mark texted me I said “took you long enough!” Neither of us wasted time. We met an hour later for “coffee”, the place was closed, so ended up sharing wine and both talking non stop, which later ended in pizza, and us both getting home after midnight. There was an instant connection and I just knew that he was different, that the date was different. I was so sure about Mark, was upfront with him, that there was to be no sex before marriage. I went home feeling great about him BUT I had to clear one thing up with him. – I texted him and asked him if he was a Christian, and would he come with me to my church because I wanted a man who would join me at my church and who I could share the same belief with, pray with, and raise my children with, with the same ideals in mind. I was so scared. I really liked Mark but I was following God’s will now and if Mark turned around and said no – I would have to – no – had to, say good bye. I was so scared after texting him, in the evening, that I switched off my phone and only turned it on when I woke up…

Mark really surprised me. I could take on the day smiling. He said to me that he was a Christian but he needed to get closer to The Lord and wanted to get closer to The Lord and if he could with me then that would be great. Amen.
As quickly as we went on our first date, was as quickly as we said I love you, as quickly as we were engaged and as quickly as we were married. Mark and I did everything according to God’s will.
We met Colin (one of the Village Church Lonehill Elders) and did the marriage course. We went on dates and outings together. I planned the wedding with my cousin, Joni, and other family like my married cousin Hayley, helped me with finding a dress, going cake tasting, and makeup runs. My family fell in love with Mark the minute they met him! And he is as much a part of our family as if we have known him for many years!
Don’t get me wrong, we haven’t been prepared for the twists and turns that have happened since getting married and although we set goals and made plans for what WE wanted to do once married God has been showing us that He is in control not us…